THE GOD GIVEN RUNES

1

4

Samsung

Hávamál

(Odin speaking)

138.  I know that I hung on a windswept tree for nine whole nights, wounded with a spear and given to Óðinn, myself to myself, on a tree about which no one knows from the roots of what (tree) it springs.

 139.  They revived me neither with bread nor drink.  I peered downwards.  I took up the runes, screaming I took them.  Thereupon I fell back.

*******

142.  You will be able to find the runes and the legible letters, letters of great power and might, which have been painted by the great sage, made by the mighty gods and cut by Óðinn the hroptr of the gods among

 143.  the Æsir, by Dáinn for the elves, by Dvalinn for the dwarfs, by Ásviðr for the giants.  I have cut some myself.

 144.  Do you know how to cut and to interpret?  Do you know how to paint and how to divine?  Do you know how to invoke and how to make offerings?  Do you know how to sacrifice and how to slaughter?

Leave a Reply

